Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Lessons from the worst episodes of our history – politicalbetting.com

Comments

• Options
    malcolmgmalcolmg Posts: 41,811

malcolmg said:

IshmaelZ said:

Aslan said:

Corporate coal interests have successfully blocked the main climate provision in Biden's plan.

https://www.politico.com/newsletters/playbook/2021/10/16/manchin-vs-everybody-494729

The world's climate is fucked. I hate these fossil fuel bastards so much. They will destroy the only planet we have.

What, like Alderan in Star Wars? Or do you mean the planet will become uninhabitable if the temperature rises a few more degrees, despite the fact that we live from the Sahara to arctic?
    And under water. Moron.
    Except it won't. Moron.

Bits of it will be but only a fraction more than already is. And will be again in the future no matter what we do about CO2.
    The under water thing is interesting. I studied Earth Science back in the early 80s and we were told to expect significant eustatic sea level rises in the following decade. Most of the examples given by journalists are actually isostatic (localised) changes, not due to global sea level rises but local geological movement (eg southern Egland)
    I think there is pretty clear evidence of some eustatic changes these days. It is no where near as bad as was predicted but it is there and there is nothing to say it won't increase in rate as things get warmer.