Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

How the most ill-tempered PMQs in years is being reported – politicalbetting.com

SystemSystem Posts: 11,002
edited November 2021 in General
How the most ill-tempered PMQs in years is being reported – politicalbetting.com

This has been an ugly session of PMQs. Arguing with the Speaker is rarely a good look for a Prime Minister

Read the full story here

Comments

• tlg86tlg86 Posts: 25,164
    edited November 2021
    First.

Labour making a mistake with this ban on second jobs. Looks opportunistic.
  • CarnyxCarnyx Posts: 39,138
    tlg86 said:

First.

What are they supposed to do? Oppose a ban?
  • As for that Mischonduct joke, that was a gag when I was a callow student.
  • tlg86tlg86 Posts: 25,164
    Carnyx said:

tlg86 said:

First.

What are they supposed to do? Oppose a ban?
    Yes! What are the Tories proposing? Labour make out they're going a lot further on it.
  • TheScreamingEaglesTheScreamingEagles Posts: 113,957
    edited November 2021
    The other thing I've noted, this IS NOT a government acting like it has an 80 seat majority.
  • Though fair play to Boris Johnson, he did manage to boil the piss of the SNP at PMQs.

Never a bad thing.
  • kle4kle4 Posts: 91,392
    Sandpit said:

Speaker requested Starmer to apologise for calling Boris a coward which he did

The HOC is a very fractious place

As we see with online discourse becoming more fractious over time, there’s definitely something to be said for the Parliamantary language rules. It makes people engage with discussion around the actual policy, rather than focussing on the personal.
    I think the sometime criticism that it prevents people from saying things doesn't hold up, since you can remain polite but scathing and hold someone's feet to the fire, and enforcing some level of decorum in the discussion strikes me as a reasonable trade off from being able to spit out insults which are not even creative.