Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Whatever the rights and wrongs of “#Traingate” Corbyn needs

Comments

• Options
    RobDRobD Posts: 58,990

Funny story from the 125 group last week.

One of the units failed on a Sheffield to London 125 just outside Bedford.

The conductor announces he has good news and bad news.

Bad news the last 50 miles are going to take over an hour ie at least 25 mins late.

Good news

Were not at 40,000 ft

On that note I was at Gatwick this afternoon to collect my boy and whilst waiting I studied the arrivals board. Almost no flight was due to arrive at their scheduled time. Some were with a few minutes either way but most were more than five minutes late, some several hours. If the railway companies were so bad at keeping to their time table there would be uproar and refunds all round. Yet because it is aeroplanes nobody seems to care.

I might also note the length of time to deliver the baggage to the reclaim area. With some flights it was there within ten minutes of landing with others it was thirty minutes plus. Gatwick is not that big for the distance from stand to baggage belt to make that much difference.

We rightly demand high standards from the railways but seem oblivious to the crap service by the airlines. I am not sure why.
    Because we secretly know in the backs of our minds that any flight on a jet aircraft is a miracle of engineering that should really be impossible, and we cut them some slack for that reason?

Or:

Because we have little choice: it's either this poor airline or that poor airline, or a pedal-boat?
    Evening, Mr. J.,

Your second option doesn't really work because we have even less choice with the railways and yet have an independent regulator who monitors performance, imposes fines, enforces refunds and all sorts of other stuff.