Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Brexiteers, you may need a stiff drink – politicalbetting.com

Comments

• Options
    Sunil_PrasannanSunil_Prasannan Posts: 49,636
    Alcaraz breaks Novax in the 5th set!
  • Options
    Sean_FSean_F Posts: 36,013

Sean_F said:

ydoethur said:

ydoethur said:

Leon said:

Leon said:

Isn’t Warsaw meant to be “richer than most parts of the UK” or some such Remoaner nonsense?

It is palpably, visibly ridiculous

Half of it looks like Charleston, West Virginia; albeit much safer

Does it feel young and vibrant though?

I think you need to travel through the UK.
    After Warsaw, go to Hull or some such.
    This is the capital city
    I’m not a Polish expert.
    Maybe all the buzz happens in the ex-Prussian parts, and Cracow.
    Almost all of modern Poland is 'ex-Prussian.' The Russians nicked the rest in 1945.

But there are no Prussians living there. They were expelled in 1946.
    Pungent PB pundit alert!

Both these assertions are NOT really correct:

> while Soviets did "nick" much of pre-WWI Russian Poland (absorbed by Belorussian SSR and Ukrainian SSR) note that USSR did NOT annex Warsaw and other major areas that were under the Czar in 1914.

> as for the rest of today's Poland, "almost all" was NOT Prussian and part of German Empire, for example Cracow and western Galicia.

> and re: "no Prussians living" in 3rd-millennium Poland, well there aren't many ethnic Germans but also NOT zero; the 2011 census the German minority = 148k.
    I have no idea what you are talking about. Over half of all modern Poland was part of Prussia before 1914. 130,000km2 that was Poland was seized by the Soviets (along with a small exclave of Prussia).

Also, the 148,000 Germans will almost all have come after Poland joined the EU. The expulsion in the 1940s was thorough. So there would be no 'Prussians' left.