Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Undefined discussion subject.

Comments

• Options
    GallowgateGallowgate Posts: 19,085
    Opened up my first Stocks and Shares ISA today with a high-risk equities only index fund. Onwards and upwards to stock market domination I think.
  • Options
    turbotubbsturbotubbs Posts: 15,253
    Nigelb said:

You find the oddest things on COVID Twitter...
    https://twitter.com/compoundchem/status/1357657742484324353

Yes - its called quenching. (But then i have a PhD in chemistry...)
  • Options
    SandyRentoolSandyRentool Posts: 20,676
    HYUFD said:

kinabalu said:

HYUFD said:

eek said:

HYUFD said:

Endillion said:

HYUFD said:

Endillion said:

On topic (why do I have to say that): I don't think Biden will run again, although I think it's a bit more than the 20-25% chance currently available. But if he doesn't, then I think Harris almost certainly will - why wouldn't she? And then I don't see how she can be stopped by a fellow member of her administration.

Under those circumstances, Buttigieg has two basic options. He can say she was crap as VP - in which case why did he happily serve alongside her for four years as Transport Sec? Or he can go after her previous record, which is unlikely to stick. Attacking her personality and character after four years in the White House is unlikely to be effective, in my view. And Buttigieg has absolutely no need to challenge in 2024, as he will have loads more chances down the line and plenty of space to build up his CV before he does. So, no deal at 5%.

My guess is that the only likely challenge to Harris (if Biden doesn't stand again) comes from the Sanders wing of the party, claiming that Biden wasn't radical enough and Harris won't be either. Warren might fancy one last shot - I think it will be very difficult for anyone but another woman to beat Harris as the optics would be awful.