Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Total UK vaccinations heading for 10m – politicalbetting.com

1235»

Comments

• Options
    DavidLDavidL Posts: 51,388
    Leon said:

A genuine question, because I'm not an expert on internal SNP politics - even if this inquiry goes against Sturgeon, is it realistic for her to resign/be forced from office?

If the inquiry finds she lied to parliament the Scottish Government's ministerial code of conduct (which, in the most recent revision, amusingly has a foreward written by one N. Sturgeon) requires her to resign.
    I appreciate that, my point is more whether she would actually need to respect the rules given how dominant she is in her party and how little this whole affair appears to be influencing voting intention. Maybe I'm just being cynical but if she's not going to be forced out by her party then I can't see why she would feel the need to resign, unless there is an absolutely seismic decline in support for the SNP.
    I don't think it is support, she is very popular. As she should be (in a way) she is very good at doing the Calming Mother of the Nation routine, during a crisis. Better than Boris, for sure, he's like your Dad that does care, but is also screwing a buxom barmaid down the local, and has to go to uh sorry yeah um stay safe, uh-huh?

However. judging by the odd recent behaviour of Sturgeon, and her administration, I suspect she is in very deep legal trouble, and she knows it. She's chucking out decoys, randomly. It smacks of panic.
    We have some extraordinary prosecutions going on in Scotland at the moment of journalists for alleged contempt of court. One was thrown out on a no case to answer basis last month and another is still ongoing. Their sin appears to be expressing sympathy for Salmond. An offence of very poor taste, admittedly, but probably not against the law, even in the brave new Scotland.