Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

A problem about enforcement remains Johnson’s failure to do anything about the Cummings lockdown bre

Comments

• Options
    BluestBlueBluestBlue Posts: 4,556
    Scott_xP said:

The longer Cummings stays the more damage he does.

Keep cheering, boys...

Then why do you keep insisting that he has to go now?

If you actually believed what you're saying you'd be encouraging him to stay. You're really quite painfully transparent...
  • Options
    OldKingColeOldKingCole Posts: 32,027

Andy_JS said:

Apparently the cut-off time in Wales and Northern Ireland is going to be 11pm, not 10pm.

This stuff is just pathetic signalling that devolved regions has some powers. It does nothing to really change public health outcomes.
    When I was a student (in the North East) 60 years ago closing time was always 10pm. We just started earlier.
  • Options
    GallowgateGallowgate Posts: 19,081

RH1992 said:

LadyG said:

Given how dire the warnings from the egg heads yesterday, i can't imagine they are really on board with all we need to do for 6 months is shut the pub earlier and ask for continued WFH.

I think they are hoping that like in early March people go much into a de facto lockdown.
    I reckon your father's source from last night was nearer the truth. This is a last throw of the dice by HMG, to try and keep the economy going, and relying - as you say - on human fear and caution to do the work of distancing.

However, they don't really expect it to work, and in a few weeks we will get proper Lockdown the Second
    I suspect most people will try and reduce their ability to catch the plague.

The unknown is the return of universities, does anyone know how many students live at home when they go to university?

That could be the difference between a light touch and lockdown 2?
    This is not far from me. Headingley has been noticeably busier with students over the weekend.