Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Boost for beleaguered TMay as the Tories hold second place in

Comments

• Options
    FrancisUrquhartFrancisUrquhart Posts: 76,285

For my sins I studied medieval English history at university. It left me with an abiding interest in landscape, dialect and place names - which is all pretty niche, I know! Anyway, if you are interested, this is a link to a brilliant place names resource. For nurds like me it can provide hours of fun:

http://kepn.nottingham.ac.uk/

English dialect fans should go here:

https://sounds.bl.uk/Accents-and-dialects/Survey-of-English-dialects

It offers a dip into an England that has all but gone.

Genuine question...how did you go from medieval history to technology / IP world?
  • Options
    CharlesCharles Posts: 35,758
    Dura_Ace said:

And paint it on the wall of my house in poo, cos im one angry old gammon

You’ve put on a lot of weight since you hung up your wings
  • Options
    TOPPINGTOPPING Posts: 41,311
    edited April 2019

DougSeal said:

DougSeal said:

And I deal with the law every day yet you consider yourself better placed to lecture me on the origin of legal terms. It may not be worth much to you but coincidentally I am also a (admittedly non-executive) director of an archeological practice and am pretty conversant, although I do not do it every day. If you want to get into a pissing contest be my guest.

At no time did I lecture you on the origin of the terms. I simply observed that we adopt words from many different sources without necessarily changing underlying concepts.

Non executive director... Hahahaha.
    I’m a director and trustee of the Canterbury Archaeological Trust.
    I'm maybe being ridiculously naive, but I think I can imagine you two lads meeting in 'real life' and having a civilized and mutually interesting exchange.