Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Help keep PB going for another year – politicalbetting.com

Comments

• Options
    MexicanpeteMexicanpete Posts: 25,059

Leon said:

The word of 2022 will be INFLATION....

If we're lucky. Otherwise we'll end up spending most of the year arguing whether to use hyper-inflation, with a hyphen, or hyperinflation, without.
    Christ. Thanks. Hyper inflation. Fantastic

So basically the 2020s are going to be a repeat of the 1920s. As they were experienced in Germany.

Brilliant
    If it's any help, AEP in Telegraph says it wont get that bad. But German inflation will be bad enough to start serious moves towards Deutsch Exit. Germans don't like inflation.

I don't doubt the inflation issues here and on the Continent, but Dexit is just the Telegraph justifying Brexit to itself.
  • Options
    stodge said:

Afternoon all :)

Ladies and Gentlemen, I've done something I've never done before !!

No, I have in fact travelled on a Thames Clipper from Battersea Power Station (one modern soulless dump) to Canary Wharf (ditto).

I'm sure @Leon, who seems to have been everywhere, would agree some of the finest views of London are from the river and it's a glorious journey downstream through the capital.

The trouble with the Thames Clipper is, to use another aquatic analogy, it's neither fish nor fowl. As a tourist attraction, it has to compete with all the cruise boats which ply their trade up and down the river ranging from the conventional boats to the speedier and perhaps less comfortable boats.

If it were to be a serious commuter option, there would have to be a lot of changes. First, the speed limit through central London is, I believe, just 12 mph on the water which is fine if you want to admire the view and take photos but not much cop if you want to get somewhere.