Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » The July local by-elections see the LD surge continuing

Comments

• Options
    kinabalukinabalu Posts: 39,312
    edited July 2019

VONC if nothing else works. It's clear that some Tories will vote to bring down their own government if its the only way of stopping no deal. Though I suspect something slightly less drastic will be cooked up in Sept/Oct. I'm not an expert in procedure but at least 400 of 650 MPs, a huge majority in the Lords and a large majority of voters oppose no deal - the politics of that are clear. The Commons will find a way I have no doubt.

I agree.

Come the autumn, 2 scenarios, (a) Johnson allows himself to be forced into an extension into 2020, (b) Brexit GE.

If (b) Johnson wins or he loses.

If he wins he has the authority to pass the WA - which he will since he is not serious about No Deal. This current stuff is for show.

If he loses, we are into Ref2 territory, which probably ends with Remain.

I see no route to No Deal other than accidental. I give it a 10% probability. I'm therefore laying it on betfair at 3.5. That's even better than it looks because the market is for 2019 only. No Deal in 2020 is a winner.

I have it as a toss up between the other 2 end states, Brexit via the WA, or Remain. 45% each.

But no, let's adjust that to 60/30 in favour of the WA.

The 2016 Ref said Leave and I have to believe that we eventually will.
  • Options
    Philip_ThompsonPhilip_Thompson Posts: 65,826

Sandpit said:

Sandpit said:

Scott_P said:
    Ooh, what a surprise! A Guardian hit-piece on Dominic Cummings, that could mostly have been written three years ago after he masterminded the Vote Leave campaign.
    The Vote Leave campaign is one of the main reasons that Brexit has been a complete car crash for the last three years. Nigel Farage has far more political nous than Dominic Cummings.