Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Why I’m betting on a 2022 general election – politicalbetting.com

Comments

• FF43FF43 Posts: 15,547
    On topic I suspect any 2022 general election would be a black swan kind of event. 18 to 1 doesn't seem massive value.
  • We’ve already seen signs that Truss is going to have problems.

She’s announced a policy which doesn’t make any sense and will involve cutting the pay of basically everyone and she thinks two internets can operate in parallel.
  • LostPasswordLostPassword Posts: 14,772
    Nigelb said:

This is quite a damning, heartfelt thread about the reaction of the Western Left to the war in Ukraine.

Oleksandra Povoroznyk 🇺🇦
    @rynkrynk
    Back when I was a sociology student at Kyiv-Mohyla, I was stupidly, shamelessly enamoured with the collective western Left. I dreamed of a day when Ukrainian academia would have widespread and popular discussions about colonialism, privilege, and all of the -isms. I read essays
    7:56 PM · Aug 1, 2022

https://twitter.com/rynkrynk/status/1554179197618331648

It's also wrong.
    There's no such thing as 'the collective western Left' when it comes to the invasion.
    They are as divided as is the western right - some of whom are pretty well active supporters of Putin.
    It's the first tweet in a reasonably long thread, where she goes into some of the nuances later. Sweeping generalisations are about all you can fit into the character limit of a single tweet. It's a facile criticism to make of a tweet.
  • Scott_xPScott_xP Posts: 32,739
  • IanB2IanB2 Posts: 47,091
    Nigelb said:

Eabhal said:

Isn't the public sector pay policy announced by Truss going to overheat London even more, while depressing investment elsewhere?

I'd have thought the "levelling up" agenda would suggest the opposite. It depends whether public sector professionals on decent pay can stimulate a local economy (Treasury to Darlington, for example).