Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

The Tories edge up a touch in theTiverton and Honiton betting – politicalbetting.com

SystemSystem Posts: 11,002
edited June 2022 in General
imageThe Tories edge up a touch in theTiverton and Honiton betting – politicalbetting.com

There’s been bit of a move upwards for the Tories in the Tiverton and Honiton by-election betting. The election takes place a week on Thursday and already many postal voters are reported to have cast their ballots.

Read the full story here

Comments

• tlg86tlg86 Posts: 25,165
    First.
  • MaxPBMaxPB Posts: 37,603
    Alistair said:

MaxPB said:

Alistair said:

MaxPB said:

I wonder what happens if Tether falls? Does the whole crypto market just break down? I'm not a domain expert, would be interested to hear from @rcs1000 and @edmundintokyo on it.

When Tether fails the whole crypto market implodes. The volume of BTC-Tether transacrions utterly dominates BTC-RealActualMoney transactions.

Crypto is priced in Tethers, not USD.
    That doesn't sound like a risky proposition at all.
    In the last 24 hours 109 Billion Dollars worth of Ethereum and Bitcoin have been traded. By far the largest volumes of any non-stablecoin crypto currency. The next one down is XRP-Ripple at 2 billion).

107 Billion Tether have been traded in that time period (plus 23 billion usdc and busd).

There is very, very little real money in the system.
    I guess the question is how much real money is Tether backed by? What would happen if $100bn worth of BTC were traded to USDT and then cashed out tomorrow? I feel like that's where we're at and people who want to trade in their USDT for actual money will be stuffed pretty soon.
  • rottenboroughrottenborough Posts: 58,043
    I'm on the Tories at 5.5

Mainly so I get the price of a decent curry to make up for my deep disappointment if somehow Johnson scrambles over the line in T&H.
  • GardenwalkerGardenwalker Posts: 20,812