Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » The moment when a major US party nominated a woman for Pres

124»

Comments

• MonikerDiCanioMonikerDiCanio Posts: 5,792

MattW said:

weejonnie said:

CD13 said:

The refrain on here is that Trump is absurd, idiotic, or straight forward mad. Although I'm no expert on US politics, my view is that he's none of those. He is a good politician, he knows what works with his voters. HRC is a poor politician, riding on the coat tails of connections and money.

Incidentally, I don't regard being a good politician as a compliment, but it's easy to make the old mistake of thinking that people who disagree with you must be wrong and/or stupid (the default setting for the "elite").

Trumps actual policies aren't extreme for the Republican party, it's only his manner and some of his pubic utterances that are designed to set up howls of rage from the that same elite. He's playing them like a violin.

He might win, he probably won't, but he's the Bernie of the GOP. And the public current mood in many countries is for an "outsider".

If he's elected, I suspect he'll be far more sensible than some think.

An actor won big not long ago. No one expected that either.

Edit: "If he's elected, I suspect he'll be far more sensible than some think." I wish I could say the same about Jezza.

A peanut farmer won a bit longer ago. However 'Bernie' lost while Trump won. (Usual occupation of POTUS is a Lawyer - at least recently, initially they tended to be farmers/ plantation owners.)
    Reagan is interesting.

An actor and President of the Screen Actors Guild. He was also a motivational speaker (says Wiki) in the 1950s.

But he did not switch from Democrat to Republican until he was in his 50s, and became Governor of Cali only 4 years later.