Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

This is going to dominate the news for the next few days and a good politician will be able to explo

Comments

• Philip_ThompsonPhilip_Thompson Posts: 65,826

Brom said:

Leon said:

Brom said:

Leon said:

Once again:

It’s a bargaining chip.

A 12 team closed shop (whether or not with a mythical three additions and five guest teams per year) ain’t gonna happen.

it's quite a detailed bluff, if bluff it is

They have their own website already

https://thesuperleague.com/

Slightly weak point, however

"Games will be played mid-week, and all clubs will remain in their domestic leagues."

My sense is that the threat of being expelled from the EPL will make English clubs back down, they are not as financially desperate as the Spaniards

But who knows. Popcorn!
    I'm not an expert on football governance, but is it possible for the six to be expelled from the Premier League? Don't they form a blocking minority that would prevent their expulsion?

Leon said:

Once again:

It’s a bargaining chip.

A 12 team closed shop (whether or not with a mythical three additions and five guest teams per year) ain’t gonna happen.

"Games will be played mid-week, and all clubs will remain in their domestic leagues."

My sense is that the threat of being expelled from the EPL will make English clubs back down, they are not as financially desperate as the Spaniards

But who knows. Popcorn!
    I'm not an expert on football governance, but is it possible for the six to be expelled from the Premier League? Don't they form a blocking minority that would prevent their expulsion?
    To carry a motion in the Premier League you need 14 votes. I know in recent times the big clubs have been getting annoyed with this balance of power such as when they were outvoted on extra substitutes in August. So technically those 14 could vote them out I reckon, though it’s pretty unthinkable.