Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » The next general election vote shares by party betting

Comments

• Options
    kle4kle4 Posts: 91,827
    Cyclefree said:

Why is everyone being so bad-tempered?

People are allowed to have different views, wear badges etc without being assaulted.

That tweet with Farage in the sights of a gun is appalling. I can't stand the man but no-one should be sending stuff like that out.

People who do that sort of thing while obviously considering themselves so morally superior to their opponents are among the worst type of hypocrites.
  • Options

148grss said:

The stuff at the SC is fascinating. I am not a lawyer, but from what I can tell the convention is that no region of law is more important than another when it comes to constitutional matters. So whereas you may have a contract that is acceptable to English law but not Scottish law, and vis versa, you could still have that contract for the region the law found it acceptable, in constitutional matters if one legal tradition finds something unacceptable it is unacceptable in all the regions.

This is why we can't just say "well the English and NI courts say it's fine, so it will probably be fine, the Scots are just kicking up a fuss" because the Scotch law tradition is so different that the SC may say this is acceptable constitutionally under English and NI law but not in Scotch law and therefore it must be held void even so. The government have to convince all three traditions they are in the right to succeed, loss in one means parliament comes back.

So the Brexiters can blame the 1707 Act of Union
    Elite politicians getting us into a superstate without a mandate from the people!
  • Options

TGOHF said:
    By that measure ERG should have the whip withdrawn as they are unlikley to back any type of deal...