Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Former runaway favourite Johnson now slips to just a 6.6% chan

Comments

• Options
    tlg86tlg86 Posts: 25,222

tlg86 said:

@The_Apocalypse - whilst I'm not impressed with some of the stuff that's gone in the Charlie Gard case, and I think the parents are misguided, I think the Left need to be a bit careful here.

It's worth remembering that there are cases where doctors get it wrong (the Ashya King case is an example of this). If I was GOSH I'd have told them, "okay, you sort out the necessary arrangements, and get on with it." But I guess that's why I'm not a doctor!

Furthermore, we only have to look at issues like FGM to realise that the state is happy to let things happen when intervening is seen as being too difficult.

Don't get me wrong I don't think doctors are infallible, although I must admit I find it difficult to understand/find common ground with the perspectives of prolife Conservatives on the Charlie Gard case and more generally.

Re FGM - all that I've read suggests that the government is keen to intervene to stop FGM from happening. But I'll search Google now on the matter to get more info on what you're saying is the case.
    Well no one's ever been prosecuted for it in the UK.

I think the question you have to ask is "how far do you take the line 'children do not belong to parents'?" Not letting Jehovah Witnesses stop their kids from having blood transfusions is one thing. Not letting them raise them as Jehovah Witnesses in the first place is quite another.
  • Options
    Beverley_CBeverley_C Posts: 6,256
    Sean_F said:

Mr. Observer, imperialist?

A country asserting its independence from a larger supra-national body is the antithesis of imperialism. We aren't seeking to impose our will on others but to end others imposing their will on us.