Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » JC getting better at PMQs but still work in progress

Comments

• Options
    PulpstarPulpstar Posts: 76,014
    edited October 2015
    Whats the effective minimum wage for 2 sprogs right now ?
  • Options
    JosiasJessopJosiasJessop Posts: 39,153
    Pulpstar said:

The VW problem was not caused by software engineers.

Lol, are you a software engineer yourself or some such :P ?

"I was only following orders !"
    I was a software engineer. Worse, I worked in embedded software. :)

The problem is that individual engineers may not have known the evil purpose behind the software they were creating, which might have had thoroughly benign uses as well. For instance, a comment below that article makes a good point that software detecting test mode (i.e. the car being on a rolling road) might actually have been a necessity. If that is the case, then linking that in with the engine control software was the crime, and that would have been a much smaller software job. But it would have been specified and agreed somewhere.

In fact, more fire may need to be put onto the QA engineers, who should as part of their process picked up on this in any number of ways.

As I've said before, I'm amazed VW's competitors did not pick up on this when they tested their competitors' cars. And if they did pick up on it, then why did they not publicise it?
  • Options
    TGOHFTGOHF Posts: 21,633
    Wont someone think of all those who lost tax credits and benefits last year and every year simply for the cruel fate of their children having a birthday and hence no longer being eligible ?

How will these hard working families cope with this callous withdrawl of equitable funding ?

When will the government make child benefit and tax credits available to children over 16 ??

• Options
    david_herdsondavid_herdson Posts: 17,447
    surbiton said: