Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Jason Kenny becomes the 30% favourite for this year BBC SPOTY election – politicalbetting.com

Comments

• Options
    LostPasswordLostPassword Posts: 15,199
    Selebian said:

Learning to code is no longer fit for purpose

Software developers from coding schools are losing out in the jobs market to self-starters who demonstrate genuine intellectual curiosity

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2021/08/09/learning-code-no-longer-fit-purpose/

I can see that. Self-taught are probably learning either by developing something themselves (likely open source, public, may become popular) or scraching an itch contributing to an existing open source project. Both more real world experience than just doing the coding assignments.

I used to contribute to KDE and many of the companies in that space recruited directly from the git repositories and the contributor conferences.

Having said that, the ideal is both. Get the formal education in the overall theory of it as well in addition to getting the real world work experience. I've learned some coding on various jobs and whenever I've subsequently done a formal course I've discovered big gaps in my knowledge.
    I think one aspect is that they want people who are flexible enough to be okay with switching languages. I worked with someone who very firmly saw themselves as a C# developer, and became very unhappy when their employer decided to migrate away from using C#. That's problematic if you then have to go through redundancy and recruitment.
  • Options
    OldKingColeOldKingCole Posts: 31,974
    edited August 2021

DavidL said:

BBC Scotland Business and Economy Editor, tweets:

Wind turbine blade-maker Siemens Gamesa doubling the size of its Hull factory, with £186m investment. 200 more jobs, adding to 1000 now.....