Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Here We Go (Again) – politicalbetting.com

Comments

• MexicanpeteMexicanpete Posts: 25,018

On topic, I've said for years the police are jumped up little gits.

Anyone who has ever dealt with them professionally can attest to that.

As was ever the case. During the Miners' strike I was a Sales Manager for the Courage Brewery. I predominantly worked in Lincolnshire and Cambridgeshire, however I had to cross into Rutland which was part of Leicestershire at the time, and a mining county, so police road blocks were in place to enter the county. On one occassion the road block was managed by Met Officers. They kindly offered to help me unload the six sample cases of Courage Directors cans (144 cans) into one of their vans from the boot of my company Cortina. I didn't feel it was in my interests to object.

I mistrust the police as an institution and individual policemen as a rule, however I respect the badge. Undermine them at your peril PB Tories!
    Dad, ex police (30 years service) tells me the coppers brought in to the miners strike earned so much overtime that they all bought news cars, and called them ‘Arthur’ after a certain miners leader...
    Ironic really, as Arthur's stewardship of the NUM during the strike meant many miners had to sell theirs to feed the children.
  • dixiedeandixiedean Posts: 27,924

dixiedean said:

In all of this the one thing missing by the MET was plain common sense

The leadership are going to have to resign over this and I have no idea how Khan avoids the same fate

Why Khan? If him why not Patel?
    Only one of them introduced the law.
    I understood the London Mayor was responsible for policing in London
    Were you calling for the resignation of Boris Johnson following the death of say Ian Tomlinson?
    I was not on PB then but Khan has questions to answer