Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » The “Led by Donkeys” billboards probably won’t stop Brexit but

Comments

• Options
    glwglw Posts: 9,554

glw said:

Alistair said:

I see Trump is pulling the trigger.

I'm no lawyer but when declaring a national emergency surely it undermines your justification for doing so to say "I didn't need to do this" out loud in front of the press?
    I think it's pretty much perfect if he doesn't actually want to build the wall, but wants to point to an establishment that is preventing him from building his wall - thus needing the renewed support of voters in 2020 to drain the swamp in DC.

This after all would explain why a Republican controlled Congress didn't pass funding for his wall for two years, but as soon as the Democrats won the mid-terms it became urgent enough to warrant a record duration government shutdown.
    Hmmm, I think you are reading too much into his comments. I really doubt that Trump is capable of that sort of strategising. More likely his bigly brain has simply let him down again.
  • Options

Point 2 is not true though is it?

Yes the EU Constitution was in manifestos but it was done so with a clear commitment by all major parties to have a referendum on it. After the French and Dutch rejected it though the Treaty was rebranded and rushed through without a referendum in a clear breach of the manifesto commitments.

Both referendums on the constitution were within a month of the 2005 General Election, and the Lisbon Treaty was only ratified three years later. Is that rushing it through?
    Yes. Ratifying it without either a fresh General Election (and thus a new manifesto commitment) or a Referendum was rushing it through. The public having been promised a say saw it get ratified before they next got to vote.
  • Options
    kinabalukinabalu Posts: 39,361