Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

Priti Patel has negative ratings even from GE2019 CON voters – politicalbetting.com

12346»

Comments

• Options
    MaxPBMaxPB Posts: 37,607
    IshmaelZ said:

Taz said:

Taz said:

MaxPB said:

Taz said:

MaxPB said:

Nigelb said:

Nigelb said:

MattW said:

Nigelb said:

I'm old enough to remember Labour's Green Deal, and then I look at the size, complications and cost of heat pumps and I think...ok, good luck with that.

https://twitter.com/martinboon/status/1450399755314606080?s=21

That was before the cost of gas quadrupled in the space of a couple of months. Alternative heating solutions and/or improved insulation might look rather more interesting to consumers now.

I'm no expert, but the idea of hybrid (heat pump alongside gas boiler) solutions looks quite interesting, as it's both a great deal cheaper to install, and suitable for less well insulated existing housing stock.
    https://hybridheatingeurope.eu/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/hhe_vision-paper_final.pdf

Anyone more knowledgeable care to weigh in ?
    Its a lot of equipment to fit in a standard three bed semi.

Despite what is says if you are going to use the ASHP a lot then the radiators and pipework will need to changed, as pumping 40 degree water through 15mm pipework into a standard radiator will provide very limited heat.
    Agree on the lot of equipment.

That looks like someone trying to create an opportunity to keep their technology in the game. It's problematic because 1 - we are pivoting away from gas, 2 - because it is a more complex install which will requite you to eg have 2 annual services not one (gas engineers will love you), 3 - because there are far simpler solutions available.