Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » As the A50 Supreme Court hearing starts YouGov finds just 46%

Comments

• Options
    TonyETonyE Posts: 938

Blue_rog said:

If, for example, changes to fishing quotas were assessed as removing the power to earn a living and it was enforced by a Statutory Instrument, could that be challenged in the Supreme Court?

I'm not a lawyer but #1 Statutory Instruments aren't Prerogative. They derive from Parent primary legislation. #2 SI's do have a form of parliamentary approval. #3 The ruling was about Rights granted by Parliament. Not something as nebulous as " the power to earn a living. " You are comparing Apples and Chocolate Oranges.
    In fact, that is the issue - the judgement is wrong because it is based on 'rights conferred' rather than purely on the primacy of Parliament.

The potential here is for judicial creep - in that once it is held that the issue is a 'right' and not a 'law' - then the ability for Judges to decide that a right is conferred and therefore confound the will of the executive over powers that it should naturally hold (under international treaty) potentially increases.

The judgement should be reduced to its narrowest meaning - that in essence it is not about rights held by individuals, but the pure issue of revocation of law by effect of executive action. This I suspect, is the real reason for this appeal.
  • Options
    ParistondaParistonda Posts: 1,819

@keiranpedley: Am I right in thinking that Renzi never actually won an election? And then called a referendum and lost? Is that something to really mourn?