Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Leading pollster, Martin Boon, ex-ICM now of DeltaPoll, raises

Comments

• Options
    StereotomyStereotomy Posts: 4,092
    Cyclefree said:

Chris said:

Cyclefree said:

I realise criminal justice is not high in anyone's priorities.

But this story - https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/news/give-us-your-phone-or-we-ll-drop-case-rape-victims-told-t3lfwp0cl - is an important one & being very badly reported.

-snippage-

Grr.... Rant over.

+1

I'm no lawyer, but just reading the headline on the BBC website did make me think, "Why wouldn't you hand over evidence? You want the guilty convicted don't you?".
    I felt the opposite. I felt that having to give the police licence to trawl through all your private electronic correspondence would represent such an invasion of privacy that it would deter many people from proceeding with a complaint.

Is it right that one should have to forfeit any right to privacy before reporting an alleged crime?
    Yes - see my answer upthread. If your house is burgled your house is examined. If you are defrauded, your correspondence and interactions with the fraudster - by whatever means - are examined. If you are raped, you will be examined in the most intimate manner in order to obtain forensic evidence. If you are attacked, photographs of your injuries are made available to the court and the jury. If the evidence is contained in your electronic correspondence then there is no good reason whatsoever why it should be exempt from investigation. What matters is whether it is evidence.